Contest results: Awtrey, Hammock, Frazer win Sweepstakes

Three writers from the Atlanta area were the big winners at the Georgia Sports Writers Association’s annual contest.

Winning the Furman Bisher Sweepstakes Award for best story in each circulation category were Stan Awtrey of Golf Georgia (50,000-plus circulation), Will Hammock of the Gwinnett Daily Post (50,000 or less) and Ian Frazer of the Forsyth County News (non-weekly). The award is named in honor of the late Atlanta Journal-Constitution columnist.

Winning for Best Daily Sports section were Savannah Morning News (Division I), Gwinnett Daily Post (Division II) and Forsyth County News (Division III).

Nathan Deen (four first place awards) and Dennis Knight (two first place awards) led Savannah’s domination in Division I. The Morning News also won for Best Sunday Section and Best Special Section.

In Division II, Hammock claimed four first place awards and the Gwinnett Daily Post was also won for Best Sunday Section. The Marietta Daily Journal won for Best Special Section and editor John Bednarowski won for Best Column and Best Columnist.

In Division III, Frazier won for Best Local Event and Best Local feature and editor Brian Paglia won for Best Column and Best Local News.

The contest was judged by Scott Rabalais of the Baton Rouge Advocate, Jim Halley of USA Today, Bob Holt of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and former USA Today Sports Editor Henry Freeman.